Excellence In Education



The Excellence in Education Banquet for 2021 was not able to be celebrated in person, but the 2022 banquet returned to an in-person event and was held at Orchard Valley Golf Course.  This special event honors both the highest achieving academicians graduating from West Aurora High School this spring.  The award is dedicated to the recognition of academic accomplishments by the top 5 percent of the graduating senior class and the support from their parents and educators.  Each student honored selected the educator who had the biggest impact on his or her scholastic life.  These educators include elementary, middle and high school teachers, music and dance instructors, mentors, tutors, coaches and club sponsors.

CLASS OF 2022: Excellence in Education Scholars

Isela Sandra Acevedo
Natalie Anderson
Tonatiuh Arroyo
Sydney Atkins
Gracin Robert Barcarella
Jillian Bantz
Emma Bedwell
Emily Beger
Emma Camp
Patrick Casher
Frank Chavez
Savannah Crooks
Katelyn Dodson
Gideon Ellis
Emri Eshtrefi
Karalyn Fowler
Diane Fuentes
Ashley Heetland
Elizabeth Kuhn
Seth Kuni

Emma Lawless
Julianna Longo
Gabriella Lutzenkirchen
Athena Ly
Molly Martin
Megan McCormick
Callie Meinel
Riley Mont
Zackary Noe
Kate Ochsenschlager
Annabel Olivo
Marina Paniagua
Quinn Patchell
Benjamin Rodriguez
Zaira Shahid
Owen Simmons
Alexandria Sims
Alexandra Stoica
Devon Tomas
Mary Voris

2022 Influential Educators

Laura Anderson
Mark Banholzer
Sarah Burgess
Ken Carlson
Sam Carroll
Julie Feld
Bruce Fraser
Stephen Frietag
Wayne Ha
Jill Harms
Carly Hill
Quyen Huynh
Rebecca Jurkowski
Cindy Larry
Matthew Love
Tabitha Miller
Heidi Ochsenschlager
Jen Pauley


Robert Payne
Victor Perez
Chris Ranallo
Dr. Cheryl Rosentreter
Mike Runge
Dr. Rod Schueller
Angela Schultz
Morgan Smith
Bill Stanley
Dr. Steve Stern
Marybeth Sterr
Kristie Szwajkowski
Sean Tait
Teresa Waldinger
Jeff Wiktor